Thanks to the Affordable Care Act (aka Obamacare), all major health plans that are bought through the Marketplace must cover a minimum amount of services, drugs, and treatment. These are called Essential Health Benefits: 

  1. Ambulatory patient services (Outpatient care)
  2. Emergency Services (Trips to the emergency room)
  3. Hospitalization (Treatment in the hospital for inpatient care)
  4. Maternity and newborn care
  5. Mental health services and addiction treatment
  6. Prescription drugs
  7. Rehabilitative services and devices
  8. Laboratory services
  9. Preventive services, wellness services, and chronic disease treatment
  10. Pediatric services

Before the Affordable Care Act passed, these benefits were really only available to people that had employee health insurance. Some plans may also have additional benefits, like birth control and breastfeeding coverage. Many grandfathered plans and private plans also cover these benefits, they’re just not required to have them


Let us know if this article was helpful either through Twitter (@hellojoany) or by dropping a comment below. We’d love to hear from you and answer any questions you may have!

Leave a Reply